My Research Interest

My research interest lies at the intersection between neuroscience and man/machine interfaces. In my PhD, I am developping neuroprosthetic devices that can work with the same principles as the peripheral nervous system.

More precisely, I am researching ways to achieve a more natural, intuitive and efficient control of EMG-prosthesis using spike-based processing.

A little bit more about me

๐Ÿ“ I am Egyptian, born and raised in Cairo ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ, currently living in Zurich ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ.

๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿปโ€๐ŸŽ“ I earnt a French Baccalaureate from Lโ€™Ecole du Sacrรฉ-Coeur in 2011. I then pursued a bachelor degree in Electronics Engineering from the American University in Cairo. In 2018, I moved to Zurich for my masterโ€™s degree in Neural Systems and Computation, University of Zurich (UZH) and ETH Zurich. I then started my PhD in March 2021 in the Neuromorphic Cognitive Systems (NCS) at the Institute of Neuroinformatics (INI).

๐ŸŽพ I am passionate about Tennis. I learnt to play at the age of 6 and competed in national and international competition until I was 24 years old. Although I donโ€™t compete anymore, I still play once or twice a week for the love of the game ๐Ÿ˜‡ (if you want to play just hit me up).

๐ŸŽผ I play the piano ๐ŸŽน. Started my piano lessons at the age of 6 as well. I earned Trinity Guidhall diplomas grade 2-8. Now, I enjoy composing piano pieces in my spare time (it helps me relax ๐Ÿ™ƒ)

โœ๐Ÿป I like writing articles (usually on random or personal topics) and publishing them from time to time on Medium. During college, I decided to pursue a minor degree in Rhetoric and Composition (because why not ๐Ÿ˜€) and it made me realize how much I enjoy writing.

Books I Read / Currently Reading๐Ÿ“š